跳到主要内容
Alpha-Omega Project Logo White

与开放源码软件项目维护者合作,系统地发现开放源码中新的、尚未发现的漏洞--并将其修复--以提高全球软件供应链的安全性。

"阿尔法 "将与最关键的开源项目的维护者合作,帮助他们识别和修复安全漏洞,并改善其安全状况。"欧米茄 "将确定至少10,000个广泛部署的开放源码软件项目,它可以将自动安全分析、评分和补救指导应用于其开放源码维护者社区。

网络研讨会。阿尔法-奥米加项目介绍

观看网络研讨会 在YouTube上或 查看介绍.

表达您的兴趣

让我们知道你想如何参与阿尔法-奥米加项目。 我很感兴趣。

我们正在招聘!

加入我们的团队,帮助我们加深Alpha-Omega对开源供应链的影响。

安全研究员/分析员

软件/安全工程师

更多关于阿尔法和奥米加的信息

阿尔法。专注于最关键的开放源码软件项目

阿尔法将是合作性质的,针对和评估最关键的开源项目,以帮助他们改善其安全态势。这些项目将包括独立的项目和核心生态系统服务。它们将根据OpenSSF的工作来选择 保障关键项目工作组 使用专家意见和数据的组合,包括OpenSSF 关键性得分 和 哈佛的 "人口普查 "分析 识别关键的开放源码软件。

对于这些选定的项目,Alpha团队成员将提供有针对性的帮助,以了解和解决安全漏洞。帮助可以包括威胁建模、自动安全测试、源代码审计,以及对发现的漏洞进行修复的支持。它还可以包括实施从OpenSSF概述的标准中提取的最佳实践。 记分卡 和 最佳实践奖章 项目。

Alpha将跟踪一系列重要的指标,为利益相关者提供一个更好的了解他们所依赖的开源项目的安全性。公众将收到一个透明的、标准化的项目安全态势和对安全最佳实践的遵守情况的视图。

欧米茄:关注开放源码软件项目的长尾部分

欧米茄将使用自动方法和工具来识别至少10,000个广泛部署的开源项目的关键安全漏洞。这将通过技术(云规模分析)、人员(安全分析师对发现的问题进行分流)和流程(向正确的开放源码项目利益相关者秘密报告关键漏洞)的组合来完成。欧米茄将有一个专门的软件工程师团队不断调整分析管道,以减少假阳性率和识别新的漏洞。

欧米茄社区成员将提供关于未来如何自动检测安全漏洞的建议,以及更普遍的关于实施安全最佳实践的有效方法。

常见问题

公众的参与模式是什么?个人如何参与?

目前,公众参与的最佳方式是通过OpenSSF工作组。特别是 确保关键项目的安全, 开放源码软件开发者的最佳实践,以及 漏洞披露 群体。我们还将举办一个 每月公开会议 在每个月的第一个星期三。

各组织如何参与?

请引导你们组织的同事参加这些工作组。 如果你有兴趣帮助资助Alpha-Omega,请直接联系我们,地址是 http://members.openssf.org/.

欧米茄安全研究小组是由社区驱动的,贡献者来来去去,还是经过挑选的、一致的个人?

最初,这些将是工作人员的职位,由Linux基金会雇用,以专门的方式在Omega上工作。我们正在探索让社区参与并做出有意义的贡献的方法。

如何确定关键项目?

一个OpenSSF工作小组已经创建了一个初步的关键项目清单,以开始确定工作的优先次序。最初的重点将是我们可以快速学习并产生影响的领域。

你将如何与你发现漏洞的开放源码软件项目互动?

我们将继续依靠OpenSSF工作组和我们自己的内部团队进行指导。我们不太可能偏离正常的最佳实践。直接与维护者合作是关键,我们不会在没有建立初步关系的情况下开始寻找漏洞。

Alpha-Omega是一个防止黑客攻击的安全项目,还是要利用Alpha-Omega增加另一层安全?

Alpha-Omega既不是良好安全实践的开始也不是结束。我们的目标是减少生态系统中严重可利用漏洞的数量,使攻击者更难进行攻击。这是对许多其他工作的补充,所以从这个角度来说,是的,Alpha-Omega就像一个额外的保护层,将被引导到产生最大的影响。

Alpha-Omega Project Logo White

Partnering with open source software project maintainers to systematically find new, as-yet-undiscovered vulnerabilities in open source code – and get them fixed – to improve global software supply chain security.

“Alpha” will work with the maintainers of the most critical open source projects to help them identify and fix security vulnerabilities, and improve their security posture. “Omega” will identify at least 10,000 widely deployed OSS projects where it can apply automated security analysis, scoring, and remediation guidance to their open source maintainer communities.

Join the Mailing List

Sign up to stay up-to-date.

Webinar: Intro to The Alpha-Omega Project

Watch the Webinar on YouTube or view the presentation.

Express Your Interest

Let us know how you’d like to get involved in the Alpha-Omega Project. I’m Interested.

We’re Hiring!

Join the team and help us deepen Alpha-Omega's impact on the open source supply chain.

Lead Program Manager

Security Researcher/Analyst

Software/Security Engineer

More About Alpha and Omega

Alpha: Focusing on the Most Critical OSS Projects

Alpha will be collaborative in nature, targeting and evaluating the most critical open source projects to help them improve their security postures. These projects will include standalone projects and core ecosystem services. They will be selected based on the work by the OpenSSF Securing Critical Projects working group using a combination of expert opinions and data, including the OpenSSF Criticality Score and Harvard’s “Census” analysis identifying critical open source software.

For these selected projects, Alpha team members will provide tailored help to understand and address security gaps. Help can include threat modeling, automated security testing, source code audits, and support remediating vulnerabilities that are discovered. It can also include implementing best practices drawn from criteria outlined by the OpenSSF Scorecard and Best Practices Badge projects.

Alpha will track a series of important metrics providing stakeholders with a better understanding of the security of the open source project they depend on. The public will receive a transparent, standardized view of the project’s security posture and compliance with security best practices.

Omega: Focusing on the Long Tail of OSS Projects

Omega will use automated methods and tools to identify critical security vulnerabilities across at least 10,000 widely-deployed open source projects. This will be accomplished using a combination of technology (cloud-scale analysis), people (security analysts triaging findings) and process (confidentially reporting critical vulnerabilities to the right OSS project stakeholders). Omega will have a dedicated team of software engineers continually tuning the analysis pipeline to reduce false positive rates and identify new vulnerabilities.

Omega community members will provide suggestions on how to automate detection of security vulnerabilities in the future and more generally on efficient ways to implement security best practices.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the engagement model for the public? How can individuals get involved?

For now, the best way for the public to engage is through the OpenSSF working groups. In particular the Securing Critical Projects, Best Practices for OSS Developers, and Vulnerability Disclosures groups. We will also be hosting a monthly public meeting on the first Wednesday of each month.

How can organizations get involved?

Please direct colleagues from your organizations to the working groups. If you’re interested in helping fund Alpha-Omega please contact us directly at http://members.openssf.org/.

Will the Omega group of security researchers be community-driven, where contributors come and go, or selected, consistent individuals?

Initially, these will be staff positions, hired by the Linux Foundation and working in a dedicated manner on Omega. We’re exploring ways for the community to be engaged and contribute meaningfully.

How will critical projects be identified?

An OpenSSF working group has created an initial critical projects list to begin prioritizing the work. The initial focus will be on areas where we can learn and have impact quickly.

How will you interact with the OSS projects for which you find vulnerabilities?

We will continue to lean on the OpenSSF working groups and our own internal teams for guidance. It is unlikely that we will diverge from normal best practices. Working directly with the maintainers is key and we won’t start finding vulnerabilities without an initial relationship in place.

Is Alpha-Omega a security project to prevent hacking attacks, or is another layer of security going to be added using Alpha-Omega?

Alpha-Omega is neither the beginning nor the end of good security practices. The goal is to reduce the volume of serious exploitable vulnerabilities from the ecosystem, making it harder for attackers to carry out an attack. This complements many other efforts, so in that way, yes, Alpha-Omega is like an additional layer of protection that will be directed to have the most impact.